

NEW SHERIFF IN TOWN? TIME WILL TELL, BUT IT'S AN ALL-ANDRETTI FRONT ROW WITH SAGE KARAM WINING THE PEAK PERFORMANCE POLE FOR TODAY'S STAR MAZDA RACE 1 AT EDMONTON

Local drivers Stefan Rzadzinski and Blair Robertshaw will start 9th and 18th

Edmonton, Alberta / July 21, 2012 – It may be a little early to state unequivocally that there's a new sheriff in town, but there's no doubt about the fact that today's Race 1 of the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear will feature an all-Andretti front row, with Sage Karam starting from the PEAK



Performance pole in his #88 Andretti Autosport / Comfort Revolution Mazda. Starting alongside in the #77 Andretti Autosport / K12 / Zakosi Data Backup Mazda -- just 0.005 sec. slower than Karam's 1:28.644 is his teammate, Zach Veach, matching his front-row qualifying effort two weeks ago in Toronto.

"We were running second and sixth yesterday, but one of the virtues of being an Andretti driver is access to advice from guys like James Hinchcliffe; we spent half an hour with him last night and now we're 1-2," says Karam, who hails from the Andretti hometown of Nazareth, PA. "It wasn't all talk, though. The team made a ton of changes overnight, and we actually found a couple of things wrong with the car that we

fixed, and between it all we got the 8/10ths that we needed to grab the pole. And it's always a real boost to see Michael Andretti, our team owner, on in the pits; he comes our every time we're on track and it's great to know he's so involved."

Starting on the inside of the second row is the dominant driver from Toronto, English racer Jack Hawksworth, who won both races from the pole. His time of 1:28.754 in the #82 Team Pelfrey / TORGOEN Swiss Watches / EXA Networks Mazda here, however, was good enough only for the third spot on the grid. Starting next to Hawksworth will be Gabby Chaves, who finished 3rd and 4th in Races 1 and 2 respectively at Toronto.

Local driver Stefan Rzadzinski, who ran in the Indy Lights race at this event last year, will start 9th in his #93 JDC Motorsports / PoweredByAlberta.com Mazda. Alberta businessman/racer Blair Robertshaw, making his professional open-wheel racing debut here this weekend will start 18th in his #42 Robertshaw Racing / SEKO Construction / Web Mechanical Mazda.





Star Mazda on-track action and the Edmonton Indy continues with Race 1 of the weekend's double-header taking the green light for the series' spectacular standing start at 2:30pm. Race 2, with the grid set according to the fastest lap turned by each car in Race 1, will take the green at 9:30am Sunday, July 22.

Star Mazda Championship cars all carry two Replay XD1080 cameras to provide exciting driver POV footage for races that are part of the Mazda Motorsports Hour broadcast tape-delayed on Discovery's Velocity Channel in the U.S. and globally on ESPN International. In the U.S., the race will air on Velocity at 12 Noon, Saturday, August 25. In Canada, the Mazda Motorsports Hour airs on Rogers Sports Net; please check your local listings for date and time, or go to <u>http://www.sportsnet.ca/tvschedule</u>.

Pos N	lo. Name	Best Tm	In Lap	Diff	Gap	Sponsor	Team
1	88 Sage Karam	1:28.644	11			Comfort Revolution	Andretti
2	77 Zach Veach	1:28.649	12	0.005	0.005	K12.com / Zakosi Data Backup	Andretti
3	82 Jack Hawksworth	1:28.754	12	0.110	0.105	TORGOEN Swiss Watches/ EXA Networks	Pelfrey
4	19 Gabby Chaves	1:28.806	13	0.162	0.052	Claro/ Marca Colombia / Tecpro	JDC Motorsports
5	81 Petri Suvanto	1:28.956	13	0.312	0.150	Mazda Road to Indy	Pelfrey
6	22 Martin Scuncio	1:29.000	8	0.356	0.044	Pullman Bus	Juncos Racing
7	9 Juan Piedrahita	1:29.175	14	0.531	0.175	Petrosur / Colombia es pasion / GFK Motors / Lamd Link	JDC Motorsports
8	57 Diego Ferreira	1:29.245	5	0.601	0.070	Team Viso Venezuela	Juncos Racing
9	93 Stefan Rzadzinski	1:29.255	13	0.611	0.010	PoweredbyAlberta.com	JDC Motorsports
10	83 Gustavo Menezes	1:29.296	13	0.652	0.041	TrueCar.com	Pelfrey
11	15 Bruno Palli	1:29.720	7	1.076	0.424	Team Viso Venezuela	Juncos Racing
12	66 Zack Meyer	1:29.785	7	1.141	0.065	Partners III	Aim Autosport
13	2 Connor De 2 Phillippi	1:29.888	10	1.244	0.103	ModSpace Racing / One24	Juncos Racing
14	91 Ashley Freiberg	1:30.213	12	1.569	0.325	TRUECar.com	JDC Motorsports
15	21 Camilo Schmidt	1:30.393	9	1.749	0.180		Linares Racing
16	33 Ryan Tveter	1:30.580	11	1.936	0.187	Rogers TV / Motorola Mobility Canada	Team GDT
17	20 Carlos Linares	1:31.188	5	2.544	0.608	Mindeporte	Linares Racing
18	53 Andres Mendez	1:31.994	8	3.350	0.806	GrupoKriterion.com / DataFile.com.co	Team GDT
19	42 Blair Robertshaw	1:34.525	6	5.881	2.531	Robertshaw Racing / Seko Construction / Web Mechanical	

About Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear

GOOD*Y***EAR**

The Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear is a part of the <u>Mazda Road to Indy</u>, the official driver development program for IndyCar. The 2012 schedule currently includes 17 races on 10 weekends, most with IndyCar. Rising stars from around the world will compete on road courses, street circuits and ovals in front of more than a million fans as they compete for prizes valued at \$1.2 million, including a scholarship to move up and race in the 2013 Firestone Indy Lights series. Drivers 16 and older



are welcome to compete and the Star Mazda Championship also features the Expert Series for drivers 30 and older. The Star Mazda Championship features standing starts, wheel-to-wheel racing at 160 mph and budgets a fraction of other top open-wheel ladder series. For more information on the Star Mazda Championship please visit <u>www.starmazda.com</u>.

For more information on the Star Mazda Championship and its drivers, as well as the Mazda Motorsports ladder system, please visit www.starmazda.com and www.mazdausa.com. For information, interviews and photos, please contact Star Mazda Communications Director Peter Frey at (818) 398-5733 or StarMazdaPR@aol.com.

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/starmazdaseries

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/starmazdaseries











